Click to Home
New Kent County, Virginia

Go To Search
Transportation Safety Commission

Transportation Safety Commission

  • serves in an advisory capacity to the Board of Supervisors and acts as a clearinghouse for information and requests to State and local agencies from County citizens on matters relating to highway and transportation safety
  • formed to make the County eligible to receive certain grants and mini-grants from the state and federal governments available to only counties with established transportation safety commissions
  • composed of two Board-appointed members from each election district and ex officio members that include a representative from the Board of Supervisors, the Area State Police Sergeant, the Fire Chief, the Rescue Squad Captain, the School Board Director of Transportation, and representatives from the Sheriff's Office, Virginia Department of Transportation, and Division of Motor Vehicles
  • appointees serve 4-year staggered terms ending December 31
  • meets quarterly on the 2nd Wednesday of January, April, July and October at 1 p.m. in the Emergency Operations Center, located in the Sheriff’s Office at 11915 Courthouse Circle, New Kent, Virginia
  • chartered on May 14, 2012, by adoption of Resolution R-24-12
  • Current roster