Central Virginia Waste Management Auth. Board

  • created in December 1990 under the Virginia Water & Waste Authorities Act (Ch. 51, Title 15.2, Code of Va.) to assist member localities with satisfying Virginia's recycling requirements
  • its Board of Directors contains one or more members from its member jurisdictions of Colonial Heights, Hopewell, Petersburg, Richmond, Ashland, Charles City, Chesterfield, Goochland, Hanover, Henrico, New Kent, Powhatan and Prince George
  • Authority may contract for and maintain any garbage and refuse collection, and may transfer any disposal program or system within the cities, counties or towns that are members. This can include waste reduction, waste material recovery, recycling as mandated by law or otherwise, landfill operation, household hazardous waste management and disposal.
  • The Board of Directors meets on the 3rd Friday of every month at 9 a.m. in either Petersburg or Richmond
  • more information
  • New Kent's representatives (PDF)